APF win National Women’s Championship

Kathmandu – Armed Police Force(APF) defeated Purwanchal by 10 runs and clinched the National Women Championship played at TU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur.

Losing the toss and put into bat first in the match reduced to 10 overs due to rain APF made 64 runs losing just 1 wicket.

APF made a slow start and were 15/1 in the 5th over.  The pair of Sita and Sarita added 49 runs in the next 5 overs to take APF to a strong total. Sita Magar top scored for APF with 29 runs off 28 balls.

APF had not scored a boundary till the 8th over and were 30/1 in the 7th over.  The next three overs fetched 34 runs thanks to 22 runs off 18 balls from Magar. Magar’s innings included 3 boundries. Magar was later adjudged the player of the tournament.

Kabita Gautam was the lone wicket taker for Purwanchal dismissing Jyoti Pandey for 8 runs.

In reply Purwanchal led by national team skipper Rubina Chhetry managed 54 runs from their 10 overs. Although it turned into a convincing win at the end, Purwanchal were in the driving seat at 39/3 in the 7th over, 9 more than APF at the same stage. But some brilliant bowling and fielding coupled with ordinary running between the wickets meant they added only 15 in the last three overs handing the match to APF.

Skipper Rubina Chhetry top scored for Purwanchal with 16 runs from 15 balls including 1 boundary. After decent start the pressure of accelerating at the end got to the Puwanchal players as 3 players including Rashmi Sharma(12) were run out. Mamta Chaudhary(6) and Roma Thapa (2) were the other two.

Karuna Bhandari and Sarita Magar picked up a wicket each for APF.

Sarita Magar from APF was adjudged the player of the tournament. Santoshi Chaudhary from Eastern Development Region who had picked up 6 wickets in 2 league matches was declared the best bowler and Santoshi Chaudhary who scored 61 runs in the 2 league matches the best batter. The best bowler and batter each recived a cash prize of Rs. 5000 each while the player of the tournament bagged Rs. 10,000. Sabnam Rai of Purwanchal was declared the best fielder.

The tournament champions APF won Rs. 1,00,000 cash prize along with the championship trophy while Purwanchal recieved Rs. 50,000.

This women’s championship is a selection tournament for Women World Cup 2017 – Asia Qualifier to be played in Hong Kong this October. This will be the first time Nepal will play Women’s World Cup Qualifiers. The winner of that tournament will play the global qualifier consisting of 8 teams – bottom four teams of ICC Women’s Championship and 4 regional qualifiers.

In absence of Cricket Association of Nepal this event was managed directly by National Sports Council. The lack of administration and time meant that the usual format with 9 regional teams and departmental teams was dropped. The number of participating teams was reduced to six consisting 5 development regions and departmental team APF. The six teams were divided in groups of 3 each with group winner reaching the finals.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy