Nepal beaten in SAG opener, Dipendra’s 72* in vain

Nepal has been defeated by Sri Lanka U-23 in the opening match of SAG Men’s Cricket 2019 held at Tribhuwan University International Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

After losing the toss and put on to bat first, Nepal managed to post a decent total of 172 runs for the loss of 5 wicket in front of a huge home crowd. In reply, Sri Lanka U23 managed to chase the target down in 19.1 overs with 5 balls to play.

Sri Lanka U23 innings

Chasing the target of 173 runs, Pathum Nissanka & Nishan Fernando opened the innings for Sri Lanka. The openers started aggressively as they scored 36 runs off 3 overs before Nissanka was caught behind off Sompal Kami. Nissanka cameo of 30 runs off 12 balls included 3 fours & 2 huge sixes. Kamindu Mendis came in at no.3 but lasted for mere 2 balls as Pawan sarraf knocked him off with his 1st delivery of the innings (5th over of the innings). Similarly skipper Charith Asalanka, who came into bat at no.4 was dismissed by Sushan Bhari for 6 runs. Man of the match Shammu Ashan & Fernando then anchored the innings with a partnership of 91 runs off 66 balls. Requiring 33 runs to win from 27 balls after the dismissal of Fernando in the 17th over, Ashan along with Bandara finished the match with final blows against helpless Nepalese bowling attack. Shammu Ashan scored 72 runs off 44 balls smashing 4 fours & 5 sixes while Ashen Bandara finished the innings with 14 runs off 8 balls with a four & a six each.

Dipendra Singh Airee

Nepal’s Innings

Earlier after being put into bat first, struggling with the recent form, Skipper Gyanendra Malla opened the batting with former skipper Paras Khadka. The opening stand didn’t last long as Paras departed for 1 run in the 2nd over after he was caught behind off Kanushka Anjula. Aarif Sheikh scored 19 runs off 15 balls smashing 2 sixes coming in at no.3 but was soon caught out of bowling off Kamindu Mendis. Gyanendra looked good at the middle after a long time but he has left his form lingering as he was dismissed for 21 runs scoring 3 boundaries. Dipendra Singh Airee & Binod Bhandari shared 56 runs for 4th wicket before Binod was bowled by Mendis for 21 runs off 23 balls. Dipendra along with Pawan Sarraf scored 65 runs of the final 31 deliveries to post 172 on boards. Dipendra scored unbeaten 72 runs off 44 balls hammering 4 fours & 3 sixes while Pawan smashed 2 fours & a six in his making of 22 runs of 13 balls.

Nepal will now face Bhutan as their 1st T20I match in home soil on 5th of December, 9:00 AM.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy