Nepal win the first of the Premier Cup with an easy win over Malaysia by 6 wickets.

Nepal started the ACC Premier Cup campaign with a win over Malaysia by 6 wickets at the TU Cricket Ground (Nepal).

In the second inning, Nepal lost the first wicket of Ashif Sheikh in the first over. Kushal Malla played the aggressive inning from the first ball.

Young batsman Bhim Sharki was the top scorer for Nepal, scoring 71 off 98 balls, and Kushal Malla scored 70 runs in 40 balls.

Virandeep Singh, Muhammad Wafiq, Rizwan Haider and Vijay Unni took 1 wicket each for Malaysia. Except for the wicketkeeper, every player bowled a ball for Malaysia. Malaysia conceded 10 extra runs, which included 8 wides.

Before that, Malaysia won the toss and elected to bat first. Malaysia only managed to score of 235 runs in 50 overs and lost 9 wickets. Captain Ahmad Faiz was the top scorer for Malaysia, scoring 76 off 95 balls, and Virandeep Singh scored 46 runs in 95 balls.

Malaysia managed a good start in the inning; at one point, Malaysia lost only 1 wicket for 115 runs, but wickets fell continually.

Nepali bowlers Sompal Kami and Sandeep Lamichhane took 3 wickets each, while Lalit Rajbanshi took 2 wickets. The Nepali bowlers gave away 12 extras, which included 4 wides.

In the next match of the day, Hong Kong managed to win against Singapore. This is the first international match at Mulpani Cricket Ground.


The Man of the Match award was presented to Kushal Malla for his quick-fire 70 runs in 40 balls.

ACC Premier Cup started from today until 1 may.  The winner of the Premier League Cup will have to chance a play against India and Pakistan.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy