Nepal is set to play the ICC World Cup qualifiers with big hopes for cricket fans.

The Nepal cricket team is set to play in the ICC World Cup qualifiers. The qualifiers will be held in Zimbabwe from June 18 to July 9. Nepal is one of 10 teams that will compete in the qualifiers. The top two teams from the qualifiers will qualify for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, held in India.


The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced the squad for the Nepal cricket team’s upcoming tour to Zimbabwe. The team will be led by young Rohit Kumar Poudel, along with successful Nepali cricket coach Monty Desai. The squad has a majority of young players alongside some experienced players like Gyanendra Malla, Sompal Kami, and Karan.


The squad:

1. Rohit Kumar Poudel (C)

2. Gyanendra Malla

2. Sandeep Lamichane

4. Dipendra Singh Airee

5. Sompal Kami

6. Karan KC

7. Aasif Sheikh

8. Aarif Sheikh

9. Kushal Bhurtel

10. Bhim Sharki

11. Kushal Malla

12. Lalit Rajbanshi

13. Gulshan Jha

14. Abinash Bohora

15. Dev Khanal

16 Kamal Singh Airee

17. Shyam Dhakal

18. Pratish GC

19. Kishore Mahato

20. Surya Tamang

21. Sandeep Jora

22. Arjun Saud


The qualifier match will be played in a round-robin format. Each team will play four matches in the group stage. The top three teams will advance to the Super Six. Every team will play three matches against the opposite group’s top three teams in the Super Six. The top two teams from the Super Six will qualify for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The Group Format:

Group ‘A’

West Indies






Group ‘B’

Sri Lanka






The schedule for the Nepali Cricket Team:

Warmup Matches:

Nepal vs. UAE, June 13

Nepal vs. Oman, June 15


Group stage:


Nepal vs. Zimbabwe: June 18

Nepal vs. USA: June 20

Nepal vs. West Indies: June 22

Nepal vs. Netherlands: June 24

Credit: CAN

Nepal has a chance to beat a Test-playing nation and play in the first ODI World Cup.


Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy