Nepal Takes on Zimbabwe in ICC World Cup Qualifier Opener

Nepal will compete against Zimbabwe in the opening match of the ICC World Cup Qualifier cricket tournament on Sunday. The match, which will begin at 12:45 PM NST at the Harare Sports Club, aims to defeat the home team Zimbabwe, who are recognized as a formidable side.

The game against Zimbabwe is Nepal’s first One-Day International (ODI) match against a Test nation. Nepal has played only one One Day match against Zimbabwe so far.

In the 2018 World Cup Qualifier match against Zimbabwe, Nepal suffered a defeat by 116 runs. At that time, Nepal did not have ODI status, so the match was not counted as an official ODI.

Scorecard Summary of the 2018 World Cup Qualifier match:

Zimbabwe: 380/6 (Sikandar Raja – 123 runs, Brendan Taylor – 100 runs, Sompal Kami – 2 wickets, Basant Regmi – 2 wickets)
Nepal: 264/8 (Sharad Vesawkar – 52 runs, Aarif Sheikh – 50 runs, Paras Khadka – 40 runs, Sikandar Raja – 3 wickets, Brian Vitori – 2 wickets)
Result: Zimbabwe won by 116 runs

Nepal is placed in Group A of the World Cup Qualifier. Nepal will compete against the United States on June 20, the West Indies on june 22, and the Netherlands on June 24.

In the qualifier matches, the top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six stage. After each team plays against the other, the top two teams will qualify for the final, which will take place in India in October and November in the One-Day International World Cup.

A total of ten teams will participate in the World Cup to be held in India. The host, India, along with Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Bangladesh, England, Afghanistan, and South Africa have secured their places in the tournament.

Nepal Squad:

Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh(w), Gyanendra Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Rohit Paudel(c), Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Lalit Rajbanshi, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulsan Jha, Kishore Mahato, Pratis GC, Arjun Saud

Zimbabwe Squad:

Wessly Madhevere, Craig Ervine(c), Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Clive Madande(w), Brad Evans, Luke Jongwe, Richard Ngarava, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chatara, Blessing Muzarabani, Joylord Gumbie, Innocent Kaia, Tadiwanashe Marumani

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy