Oman clinch the title with victory over the hosts in super over

In a highly thrilling match in the jampacked TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur, Oman got a narrow win in the super over in the final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final Asia.

Full Scorecard

Upon winning the toss, the hosts Nepal scored 184/6 in their 20 overs, with fifties from Gulshan Jha (54 off 25) and captain Rohit Paudel (52 off 37 not out) after Kushal Bhurtel had given a good start with 31(22) and Karan KC finished off with 20(6)*. Bilal Khan bowled with the figures of 3-26 for Oman, while Aqib Ilyas picked 2 wickets and Zeeshan Maqsood got 1 wicket to his name.

gulsan jha half century vs oman
gulsan jha half century vs oman

In reply, Kashyap Prajapati contributed with a 52-ball 63 at the Omani top order, and was assisted by Aqib Ilyas with 33(19) and later by captain Zeeshan Maqsood with 26(18). Nepal got back into the game with 4 quick wickets in the middle order, but a 9-ball 24 from Mohammad Nadeem at the death took Oman near the finish line. With 2 runs needed off in the last ball, Nadeem got run out when returning for the second to tie the game. Karan KC and Sandeep Lamichhane got 2 wickets, while Gulshan Jha, Bibek Yadav, Abinash Bohara, and Sompal Kami got a wicket each in Nepal’s defense.

Action from the ICC T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier Final
Action from the ICC T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier Final

Mohammad Naseem Khushi struck 3 sixes off Abinash Bohara in the super over, to take Oman to 21/0. Nepal lost their wicket in the form of Kushal Bhurtel off the very first ball, and could only manage 10 runs in the end after Kushal Malla hit the last two balls for fours, and Oman emerged as winners in the competition.

Oman’s Kashyap Prajapati was named the Player of the Match for his innings of 63(52) that turned out to be the foundation for Oman’s victory in the end.

Oman’s Aqib Ilyas was named the Player of the Tournament with 106 runs and 10 wickets to his name.

Brief Scores:

Oman 184/9 in 20.0 Overs (Kashyap Prajapati 63, Sandeep Lamichhane 2-30, Karan KC 2-30) beat Nepal 184/6 in 20.0 Overs (Gulshan Jha 54, Rohit Paudel 52*, Bilal Khan 3-26 ) in Super Over.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy