APF Secures Prime Minister’s Cup Women’s T20 Title, Rubina Clinches Player of the Series

In a thrilling final showdown at the Tribhuvan University cricket ground in Kirtipur, the Armed Police Force (APF) Club emerged victorious in the Prime Minister’s Cup Women’s T20 national tournament. Koshi Province put up a valiant effort but fell short by 11 runs, with APF claiming the championship.

Chasing a target of 115 runs, Koshi managed to reach 103 runs for the loss of four wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Captain Rubina Chhetry led from the front, scoring a commendable 62 runs in 58 balls, featuring seven fours and one six. Kajal Shrestha contributed with 22 runs, but the rest of the team struggled to reach double figures. APF’s Karuna Bhandari and Sita Ranamar showcased their bowling prowess, taking one wicket each.

In the earlier innings, APF, opting to bat first after winning the toss, posted a total of 114 runs, losing seven wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Indu Barma starred with a half-century, scoring 53 runs off 47 balls, including six fours and one six. Jyoti Pandey and Roma Thapa added valuable runs with 27 and 14, respectively.

Apsari Begum of Koshi shone with a hat-trick in the 20th over, taking consecutive wickets of Indu Barma, Nary Thapa, and Sonu Khadka. Alisha Khadiya claimed two wickets, while captain Rubina Chhetry and Nisha Shah secured one each.

In addition to the title, APF received a prize of five lakh rupees, while the runner-up, Koshi, was awarded three lakh rupees.

This tournament marked a significant moment for women’s cricket as the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) organized a round-robin league competition for the first time. Eight teams from seven provinces, including APF, competed in this historic event held in Kirtipur.

Player of the Series – Rubina Chhetry

Rubina Chhetry, the captain of Koshi Province, was rightfully named the Player of the Series for her outstanding all-round performance. The former national team captain scored a total of 345 runs in 10 matches and took 11 wickets. As a token of recognition, Rubina received a scooter as her prize.

Rubina Chhetry, the captain of Koshi Province, was rightfully named the Player of the Series
Rubina Chhetry, the captain of Koshi Province, was rightfully named the Player of the Series

Jyotsnika Marasini from Gandaki state was honored as the emerging athlete for her impressive performance, scoring 91 runs in 7 matches, including a notable 50-run innings against Karnali. She received cricket material worth 50,000.

Puja Mahato was crowned the best bowler of the tournament, claiming 12 wickets in 7 matches.

Suman Khatiwada earned the title of the best batsman, scoring 212 runs in 7 matches.

Both Puja and Suman were awarded Rs 50,000 each for their exceptional contributions to the tournament.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy