Nepal Triumphs Over Malaysia in ACC Men’s Premier Cup Opener

In the opening match of the ACC Men’s Premier Cup, Nepal began their campaign on a positive note by securing a victory over Malaysia.

Played in Muscat, Oman, Nepal clinched the match by 5 wickets, successfully chasing down Malaysia’s target of 144 runs in 19.2 overs.

Nepal’s top-order batsman Aasif Sheikh contributed 32 runs off 35 balls, including 4 boundaries. Captain Rohit Kumar Paudel added 28 runs from 24 balls, smashing a six along the way. Dipendra Singh Airee played a brisk innings, scoring 20 runs off just 11 balls, including 2 fours and a six. Despite a promising partnership between Paudel and Airee, Nepal found themselves in a spot of bother after losing both batsmen in the 17th over.

However, Sundeep Jora and Gulsan Jha steadied the ship, guiding Nepal to victory with an unbroken stand of 30 runs. Jha contributed an unbeaten 19 runs off 7 balls, featuring a boundary and two sixes, while Jora remained not out on 12 runs from 9 balls.

Malaysian skipper Virandeep Singh was the standout performer with the ball, claiming three wickets.

Earlier, having won the toss and elected to bat first, Malaysia posted 143 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Virandeep Singh, leading from the front, notched up a splendid half-century, scoring an unbeaten 72 runs off 57 balls, including 4 fours and 4 sixes. He formed a crucial partnership of 82 runs with Sharvin Muniandy, who contributed 41 runs off 33 balls, laced with 3 fours and 2 sixes. Opener Mohammad Amir chipped in with 16 runs off 18 balls before being dismissed by Dipendra Singh Airee, while Syed Aziz managed 6 runs before falling victim to Airee as well.

Dipendra Singh Airee declared Player of the match
Dipendra Singh Airee declared Player of the match

In Bowling, Nepal’s Dipendra Singh Airee scalped two wickets, while Abhinash Bohora accounted for one dismissal.

The ACC Men’s Premier Cup features ten participating nations, including hosts Oman, Nepal, Malaysia, Hong Kong, UAE, Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait, Cambodia, and Saudi Arabia.

The teams have been divided into two groups, with Nepal placed in Group A alongside Malaysia, Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia, and Qatar.

Nepal’s second match in the tournament is against Qatar on 13th April, scheduled for 4:15 PM Nepali time. The third match against Hong Kong will take place on 15th April at 11:45 AM Nepali time.

The group stage concludes with Nepal facing Saudi Arabia on 17th April at 11:045 AM Nepali time.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, with the winner of the Premier Cup securing qualification for the T20 format Asia Cup.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy