Rashid Khan gets maiden Call for senior team; Nepal have announced their 15-man squad

Nepal have announced their squad for 13th SAG which will be held from 1–10 December. Only five teams are participating in cricket for the upcoming SAG game.India and Pakistan won’t be coming this time. All the matches of men’s cricket will be played at TU international ground whereas matches for women have been scheduled to play at Pokhara Rangasala.

Young fast bowler, Rashid khan has been included for the first time in the senior squad. Likes of Sharad Vesawkar, Basant Regmi, and Rohit Paudel haven’t been picked in the squad. Although Paudel is the reserve players list along with Bhim Sharki and Sagar Dhakal. Similarly, left-arm spinner Sushan Bhari and Kushal Bhurtel have retained their place. Both of them are currently playing the emerging nations cup in Bangladesh.
Rashid Khan has already represented Nepal in the U-19 level

Rashid Khan has already represented Nepal in the U-19 level and has featured all 3 major domestic t-20 leagues. Khan showcased his talent in recently concluded T-20 match against the MCC side, where he took 3 wickets and also top-scored the match with 18 runs. Right-arm medium-fast bowler has also proved his worth with the bat while coming down the lower order. He scored 44 and 15 not out against UAE and Sri Lanka respectively in the U-19 Asia Cup which was held in September. Khan also picked 2 wickets each in both matches. Add to that he smashed 48 against Singapore during U-19 world cup qualifier.

Men’s Squad : Gyanendra malla (c), Paras khadka, Sandeep lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sompal Kami, Karan KC,Binod Bhandari, Avinash Bohara, Sushan bhari, Kushal Bhurtel, Sandeep Jora,Pawan Sarraf, Lalit Rajbanshi and Rashid khan.

Cricket was first and last played in 2010 in SAG games. Nepal lost to Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan. Nepal’s only victory came against Malaysia, hammering them by 10 wickets. Pakistan escaped 2-wicket victory against Nepal in the bronze match playoff. Nepal posted 147/6 in 20 overs after Pradeep Airee struck fifty (52 not out in 45 balls). In reply, Pakistan chased down in 19.3 overs losing 8 wickets. Chandra Sawad picked 3/19 in his 3 overs. Bangladesh bagged gold medal after securing 6-run win over Sri Lanka in the thrilling final match.


Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy