Cummins to lead Australia in 2023 World Cup, Marnus Labuschagne ignored

Australia has announced an 18-player squad for the upcoming 2023 ICC ODI World Cup in India. Pat Cummins has been confirmed as captain, while Marnus Labuschagne has been ignored.

Cummins is expected to join the team for their ODI series in South Africa later this month, despite having a fractured wrist.

Uncapped leg spinner Tanveer Sangha and inexperienced all-rounder Aaron Hardie have also been included in the squad.

David Warner, who has been under the scanner for his form, finds a place in the squad. He is set to open the innings with Travis Head.

Australia will tour South Africa for a five-match ODI series starting on September 7. They will then travel to India where they play the Rohit Sharma-led side in a three-match ODI series before the start of the World Cup.

The preliminary squad is expected to be pruned to a 15-player list before the tournament.

Here is the full squad:

Pat Cummins (captain)
Sean Abbott
Ashton Agar
Alex Carey
Nathan Ellis
Cameron Green
Aaron Hardie
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Josh Inglis
Mitchell Marsh
Glenn Maxwell
Tanveer Sangha
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
David Warner
Adam Zampa

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy