Nepal Clinches Second Consecutive Win, Easily Overcomes Bahrain

In the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier 2023, Nepal secured their second consecutive victory by defeating Bahrain with 10 wickets. Their previous win was against the host team, Malaysia, where they won by a margin of 5 runs.

Full Scorecard Nepal Women’s vs Bahrain Women’s

In today’s match held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Bahrain set a modest target of 32 runs for Nepal to chase. In response, Nepal effortlessly reached the target without losing a single wicket in just 2.5 overs.

Kabita Kunwar played a pivotal role, contributing an unbeaten 17 runs for Nepal. She achieved this feat with three fours in her 14-ball innings. Additionally, Sita Rana Magar contributed 2 unbeaten runs.

Prior to this, Bahrain, who won the toss and chose to bat first, lost all their wickets in 15.4 overs, managing to score only 31 runs.

Bahrain’s captain, Deepika Herath Mudiyanselage, was their top scorer with 11 runs. However, the rest of Bahrain’s players failed to reach double figures in their runs.

Indu Barma from Nepal took three wickets, while Khushi Dangol claimed two, effectively limiting Bahrain’s batting performance. Kabita Kunwar, Puja Mahato, and Rubina Chhetry each took one wicket. In their previous match, Nepal defeated Malaysia by 5 runs. Nepal will face Bhutan in their upcoming match scheduled for Sunday.

The tournament is being played in two groups, with Nepal, Bahrain, Bhutan, Malaysia, Qatar and UAE in Group A and China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Kuwait and Myanmar in Group B.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, with the winners of those matches qualifying for the Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier next year.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy