CAN Appoints Indu Barma as New Captain

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has relieved Rubina Chhetri of her captaincy after an 11-year tenure with the women’s national cricket team. All-rounder Indu Barma steps in as the new captain, with Bindu Rawal appointed as vice-captain. Despite the change in leadership, Rubina remains a crucial part of the national team.

In 2012, CAN entrusted Rubina with the captaincy, succeeding Nary Thapa. Rubina has been a consistent presence in the national team since 2009. During her captaincy from 2019 to 2023, Nepal participated in 46 T20 international matches, securing victories in 32 and facing defeat in 13.

The newly appointed captain, Indu Barma, has been representing the Nepali women’s national team since 2011. A right-handed batsman and medium-pacer, Indu made her debut for the Nepali Under-19 national team in 2010. With 44 T20 internationals under her belt, Indu has contributed 493 runs, including a half-century, and has taken 23 wickets.

Team Announcement for Hong Kong T20I Series

CAN has unveiled a 14-member squad for the upcoming four-nation Twenty20 international series in Hong Kong, scheduled from November 15 to 19. The team announcement reflects a shift toward prioritizing young players, aligning with the change in captaincy.

Announced Team:

  • Indu Barma (captain)
  • Bindu Rawal (vice-captain)
  • Somu Bist
  • Puja Mahato
  • Rubina Chhetry
  • Roma Thapa
  • Sita Rana Magar
  • Sangita Rai
  • Ashmina Karmacharya
  • Khushi Dangol
  • Kajal Shrestha
  • Samjhana Khadka
  • Kanchan Shrestha
  • Sony Pakhrin

In the tournament, Nepal is set to face Tanzania on November 15th, Hong Kong on November 16th, and Japan on November 18th.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy