Kushal Bhurtel’s Stellar Performance Leads Nepal to Victory Over Netherlands

In the second match of the triangular series involving Nepal, Namibia, and the Netherlands in the ICC Cricket World Cup League-2, which serves as a qualifier for the 2027 ODI World Cup jointly hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia, Nepal secured a significant victory over the Netherlands.

Nepal triumphed over the Netherlands by 9 wickets at TU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur.

Chasing a target of 138 runs set by the Netherlands, Nepal reached the target with just 1 wicket down in 15.2 overs.

Anil Sah led the charge with an unbeaten half-century, scoring 57 runs off 36 balls, including 6 fours and 4 sixes. This marked Sah’s second career half-century, achieved in 34 balls. Aasif Sheikh also contributed with a half-century, scoring 54 runs off 45 balls, embellished with 8 fours and 1 six. This marked his 11th half-century in ODI history.

Anil Sah & Aasif Sheikh
Anil Sah & Aasif Sheikh

Opener Kushal Bhurtel provided a strong start, scoring 28 runs off 11 balls before being dismissed by Vivian Kingma.

Earlier, the Netherlands lost the toss and opted to bat first, managing to score 137 runs in 39 overs.

Captain Scott Edwards top-scored for the Netherlands with 33 runs off 49 balls. He was dismissed lbw by Kushal Bhurtel in 35th over.

Bas de Leede contributed 27 runs off 44 balls, before being bowled out by Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi in the 20th over.

Netherlands lost their third wicket when Sybrand Engelbrecht fell to Lalit Rajbanshi, scoring 23 runs off 35 balls, caught out by Anil Shah at slip. Nepal’s first success came in the third ball of the first over when Sompal Kami dismissed Michael Levitt, who was making his debut for the Netherlands, caught by Dev Khanal.

Max O’ Dowd became the second wicket to fall, getting run out on the last ball of the sixth over by Lalit Rajbanshi, after scoring 10 runs in 21 balls, including 1 six.

Noah Croes was the fifth wicket to fall, run out by Kushal Malla after scoring 12 runs. In the next over, Wesley Barresi was dismissed by Kushal Bhurtel without opening his account. Captain Rohit Kumar Paudel claimed the seventh wicket for Nepal, bowling out Shariz Ahmad in 28th over. Aryan Dutt was dismissed by Kushal Bhurtel on the last ball of the 33rd over.

Kushal Bhurtel
Kushal Bhurtel took four wickets conceeding 20 runs from his 7 overs.

The first innings concluded with Vivian Kingma scoring 2 runs off 17 balls before being dismissed by Kushal Bhurtel.

Kushal Bhurtel took four wickets conceeding 20 runs from his 7 overs. Lalit Rajbanshi took two wickets & Sompal Kami & Rohit Paudel grabbed one wicket each for Nepal.

Nepal created history by defeating the Netherlands, who made their debut appearance in World Cup League Two.

Watch Post Match Interview with Kushal Bhurtel & Aasif Sheikh 

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy