Sudurpaschim wins Prime Minister’s Cup T20 Cricket Tournament

Sudurpaschim Province emerged victorious at the Prime Minister’s Cup Women’s National T20 Cricket Tournament, winning the title by defeating Province-1 by 6 wickets in the final match at the Janata Cricket Park ground in Itahari on Saturday. Scorecard 

Chasing the winning target of 102 runs set by Province-1, Sudurpaschim reached the target in just 19.5 overs. Khadka led the way with an unbeaten 27 runs, while Dolly Bhatta scored 22 runs, Kabita Joshi scored 19 runs unbeaten and Kabita Kunwar contributed 12 runs. Sabnam Rai, Sangita Rai, Rubina Chhetri and Hiranmayi Roy of Province-1 took one wicket each in bowling.

While chasing the target, Sudurpaschim scored 37 runs and lost 3 wickets. For the fourth wicket, Khadka shared a 35-run partnership with Dolly Bhatta. After Dolly’s dismissal in the fifteenth over, Samjhana and Kabita shared an unbeaten 30-run partnership for the fifth wicket to reach victory.

Needing 8 runs to win in the last over, Kabita hit a six on the second ball of the last over bowled by Rubina Chhetri, and took the required 1 run to win in the fifth ball, leading her team to victory.

Earlier in the match, Province-1, who batted first, scored 101 runs for the loss of five wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. Kajal Shrestha scored an unbeaten 48 runs for Province-1, while Apsari Begum added 15 runs and captain Rubina Chhetri added 14 runs. Manisha Chaudhary of Far West took two wickets and Ritu Kanujia took one wicket in bowling.

Sudurpaschim Province received a prize of five lakh rupees for their victory, while the runner-up Province-1 received three lakh rupees.

Kabita Kunwar

Additionally, Kabita Kunwar from Sudurpaschim was named the best player of the tournament and won Rs. 30,000. Kavita Sunsari was declared the Player of the Choice and won a Yamaha Fasino scooter, Kabita Kunwar was named the best batter and won another 20,000 rupees, and Manisha Chaudhary of Far West was named the best bowler and won 20,000 rupees.

The tournament was organized by Nepal Cricket Association (CAN) and featured eight teams.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy