Nepal Women’s Cricket Team to Play Quadrangular T20I Series in Malaysia as Preparation for T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Nepal Women’s Cricket Team will play a Quadrangular T20 International series in Malaysia from August 22-26 as part of their preparation for the ICC Women’s World Cup T20 Asia Qualifiers, which begin on August 31 in Malaysia.

In addition to Nepal, the hosts Malaysia, Kuwait, and Hong Kong will also participate in the series. The tournament will be played in a single round-robin format, with the top two teams advancing to the final on August 26. The third and fourth placed teams will play for the third place on the same day.

Nepal will begin their campaign in the series against Hong Kong on August 22. They will then play Kuwait on August 23, and host Malaysia on August 25. ( Fixture, T20I Women’s Quadrangular Series, 2023 , Malaysia ) 

Schedule of T20I Women's Quadrangular Series 2023, Malaysia
Schedule of T20I Women’s Quadrangular Series 2023, Malaysia

The Nepali women’s cricket team is currently training at the Tribhuvan University International Ground in Kirtipur under the guidance of Indian coach Devika Palshikar.

The team for the Quadrangular Series and T20 World Cup Asia Qualifiers was announced on Thursday. Three new players, Khushi Dangol, Rubi Poddar, and Puja Mahato, have been included in the team for the first time. The team is captained by Rubina Chhetry.

Nepal Squad for ICC Women’s World T20 Asia Qualifier 2023 , Malaysia

Rubina Chhetry ( c )
Sita Rana Magar
Indu Barma
Bindu Rawal
Kabita Kunwar
Kabita Joshi
Puja Mahato
Samjhana Khadka
Ishwori Bista
Kajol Shrestha
Rubi Poddar
Apsari Begam
Asmina Karmacharya
Khushi Dangol

The tournament will be held in Malaysia from 31 August to 9 September, and the top 2 teams from the 11 participating teams will advance to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier 2024.

Nepal is included in group ‘A’ along with Bahrain, Bhutan, Malaysia, Qatar, and UAE. Group ‘B’ consists of China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar, and Thailand.

The top 2 teams in each group will advance to the semi-finals, and the 2 teams that reach the finals will reach the global qualifier 2024.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy