WaiWai EPL Press Meet : LIVE Updates

3:45 PM : Hello and welcome to the live coverage of the EPL press meet straight from the venue Soaltee Hotel here in Kathmandu. The scheduled time for the meet is 5:00 PM.

As WicketNepal broke the news yesterday, the tournament is scheduled to begin on 24th September and will be played in T20s among the same teams and under same format as its 50 overs NPL edition. We will bring you the live updates of the squad and financial. Stay tuned.

Quick Read : EPL to begin on September 24

5:00 PM : The press meet is about to begin as we can bring you some pictures from the meet.

Paras Khadka has already arrived at the venue while the other captains are still making their way. Likewise Panchakanya Tej captain Sharad Vesawkar is also out here.


Tournament Date :- September 24 toOctober 3

Jagadamba Giants has been renamed as Jagadamba Rhinos.

Title sponsor – Wai Wai. Co-sponsors – Nepal Ice, Lenovo, Suzuki

5:17 PM : There is a slight delay in the program as Nirvana Chaudhary from Chaudhary group is yet to reach the venue. The next piece of news is, all captains from the previous edition will remain unchanged.

Teams and captains:-

Tej : Panchakanya group , Captain Sharad Vesawkar

Colors X-Factors : Teletalk Pvt Ltd , Gyanendra Malla

Vishal Warriors , Vishal group , Paras Khadka

Kantipur Gurkhas, Kantipur publications, Basanta Regmi

Jagdamba Rhinos , Shankar group , Shakti Gauchan

Sagarmatha Legends , Ghorahi cement , Binod Bhandari

Match Fees :
Captains : 20,000` per match
15,000 to the National players who played minimum 15 international matches for Nepal
12,000 for u19 world cup players
12,000 per match for players below 15 matches
8,000 per match to regional cricketers

Amounts shall be treated as match fees and the entire lodging, food, and local transportations shall be taken care by the organizer. This makes an allocation of around 5.4 million rupees just as match fees for the entire Wai Wai EPL. This is easily the highest match fees being paid in Nepali cricket.

Tournament Structure :- Round Robin League and Final. The cash prizes for the winners will be declared next week.
Players present – Only two captains have represented their side in the meet. Subash Khakurel, Sunil Dhamala, Rajesh Pulami and Mahesh Chettri are representing their team in the absence of their captain.
Next edition :-  From next edition, there will be a competitive bidding and the players will be selected accordingly. 50 overs and multi-day editions are scrapped and there will be a full-fledged T20 tournament every year.
Quote :-
” There are a few changes and adjustments in every squad. We sat last week to fix small loopholes in each team so as to have each team competitive”, Paras Khadka.
“We were reported by players about the fees, we sat and decided to have increased match fees
 and have given sufficient match fees. We all are happy about it,We sat down and discussed it to the owners as well. They were happy too.” Amir Akhtar

Full squads will be declared in due course most likely in next couple of days.

Click here : More Pictures of Waiwai Everest Premier League | EPL   Press Meet 

Everest Premier League EPL


Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy