Tez beat Warriors to stay unbeaten

Panchakanya Tez 143-8 (Aarif Sheikh 47 Baskota 24 D Shrestha 4-29) beat Vishal Warriiors 142-6 (Pun 44 M Shrestha 40 Khadka 27 Karki 2-21 Kandel 2-24) by two wickets. Full Scorecard and Live commentary

Panchakanya defeated Vishal Warriors by two wickets in a pulsating contest to end the league phase unbeaten. The match was very much a dead-rubber when it began as irrespective of any result, Tez were through to the final and Warriors had to play a virtual semi-final against Colors X-factors after they defeated Jagaamba Rhinos earlier in the day.

Vishal Warriors opted to bat first after the toss but lost opener Nurdhoj Sen, who replaced Paresh Lohani from the earlier match, in the very first over – bowler Sushil Kandel continuing his trend of picking wickets in his first over. Kandel then removed Raju Rijal in his next over to put Warriors in a spot of bother. Captain Paras Khadka joined opener Sagar Pun and continued from where he left the other day as he started timing the ball with ease. Khadka played a reverse-sweep one too many as he was picked in the cover point off the bowling of Bhuwan Karki. Pun and Manjeet Shrestha kept the score moving along in a desent paced to help their side to a decent score of 142, Kandel and karki took two wickets each for Tez.

Tez made a bad start the their chase as they were reduced to 20 for 3 in the start of 7th over with both captain Sharad Vesawkar and half-centurion from yesterday Karan KC back to the hut. Prithu Baskota and Aarif Sheikh tide the slide and slowly but surely made sure Tez were in the mark. Sheikh in particular was brilliant with his on-side play as he timed some hoicks tp perfection in his 34-ball 47. Sonu Tamang played a valuable cameo of 2 sixes in his 6-ball innings to keep the required run rate in check but once both Sheikh and Tamang were dismissed, Te still needed 29 runs iin 18 balls – an equation which had been proven to be among tough ones throughout the tournament. However with timely hits from Tez lower order the target was achieved with 3 balla to spare.  Aarif Sheikh was deservedly awarded the man of the match.

Warriors will now take on Colors X-factors in a ust win clash tomorrow while Tez will wait the winner of the match in the final to be played on Monday.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy