Nepal defeat South Africa to register first win

Nepal defeated South Africa by 6 wickets to register Nepal’s first win in the Blind T20 World Cup 2017.

Full Scorecard  , Points Table 

This is Nepal’s only second win in T20 World Cup. Nepal had previously defeated Bangladesh in the first edition of the tournament in 2012. The 10 team event is being played in India from January 30 to February 10.

Nepal had lost it previous two matches to Australia and Bangladesh by 10 wickets and 59 runs respectively.

Nepal chased 147 run target set by South Africa in 17.3 overs losing  4 wickets. Earlier losing the toss and put into bat first South Africa posted 145/5 riding on half century from Sonwabile Bidla. Bidla remained unbeaten 57 runs from 59 balls and scored two fours in the process. Opener Dominic Scott Adriaans made 33 runs and Bhule Bhidla made 32 off 25 balls. Sunil Magar picked 2 wickets for Nepal giving just 26 runs from his 4 overs. Kritan Duwal got 1 scalp.

In reply Openers Sunil Magar and Ramesh Baniya got Nepal a flying start 69 runs in 8.4 overs. Baniya who made 24 off 28 balls with one four was the first to depart being bowled by Tefo Lesley Classen. Magar was dismissed 2 overs later, bowled by doctor William Malinga for 38 runs. Sunil Subedi Chhetri then guided Nepal homw with unbeaten 46 off 33 balls. He added 26 runs with Sunil Thapa Magar(5), 28 runs with Lok Bahadur Thapa(9) and scored the winning runs with Kritan Duwal on 0 at non strikers end.

Bhule Bhidla, Doctor WIlliam Malinga, Tefo Lesley Classen and Sonwabile Bidla bagged a wicket a piece for South Africa. This is South Africa’s third defeat in a row in the tournament.

Nepal will face Pakistan tomorrow.  ( Schedule of Nepal )

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy