Eight uncapped players in 24 member preliminary squad for Kenya

A 24 member preliminary squad of Nepal for 5th round of World Cricket League matches against Kenya was announced today. Nepal will face Kenya on 11th and 13th March.

The list includes 8 uncapped players 7 of whom have represented Nepal at U19 level. Youngsters Amit Shresta, Sushan Bhari, Dipesh Shrestha, Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif and Dilip Nath made the cut from 32 players included in Whatmore’s camp.

All except The left hand Dilip Nath played as a wicketkeeping batsman for Sagarmata Legends in the Everest Premier League.

Subash Khakurel, Naresh Budhayer, Prithu Banskota, Sunil Kandel, Anil Mandal did not make it to the 24.

Dilip Nath
Dilip Nath

Sunil Dhamala who was included in 15 member squad touring The Netherlands also made it to the side. He is yet to play for the senior team. In absence of Khakurel he could have been considered for the role of opening batsman along with Aasif Seikh.

The team was selected based on performances in Super League which included 52 players. 32 of those 52 were included in Whatmore’s high performance camp

In absence of Khakurel and Raju Rijal, who was excluded from the High Performance Camp, Binod Bhandari will likely stand behind wickets for Nepal against Kenya. Bhandari trained as a wicket keeper under Whatmore. However, this could also open doors for likes of Dilip Nath and Aasif Seikh.

1. Paras Khadka (Captain)
2. Gyanendra Malla
3. Md. Aarif Sheikh
4. Amit Shrestha
5. Sushan Bhari
6. Dilip Nath
7. Mehboob Alam
8. Karan KC
9. Md. Aasif Sheikh
10. Sagar Pun
11. Bhuwan Karki
12. Sharad Vesawkar
13. Kushal Bhurtel
14. Bikram Sob
15. Shakti Prasad Gauchan
16. Avinash Karn
17. Sompal Kami
18. Sunil Dhamala
19. Dipendra Singh Airee
20. Basant Regmi
21. Dipesh Shrestha
22. Rajesh Pulami Magar
23. Binod Bhandari
24. Sandeep Lamichhane


Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy