Lalitpur Patriots beat Kathmandu Kings Xi in the EPL T20 2017 opener

Lalitpur Patriots have started the season campaign with a 7 wicket victory over Kathmandu Kings XI in the opening match of this season’s Everest Premier League held at TU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur.

|| Scorecard || Points Table ||

Lalitpur Patriots skipper Gyanendra Malla, the vice-captain of the Nepal national cricket team invited Farveez Maharoof, former Srilankan all-rounder led Kathmandu Kings XI to bat first. Malla’s decision was spot on as the patriots were able to bundle up the opposition for mere 89 runs in 18.3 overs.

In reply, the Patriots chased down the target pretty comfortably in 16.3 overs for the loss of 3 wickets. Opening batsman JayKishan Kolsawala top scored the runs chart with an unbeaten 44 runs off 48 balls smashing 4 fours and 2 sixes while skipper Malla contributed 20 runs off 30 balls and Rajbir Singh remained unbeaten at 14 runs off 14 balls. Overseas Srilankan off-spinner Akshu Fernando picked up 2 wickets while Sompal Kami also picked up a wicket for the Kings.

JayKishan Kolsawala top scored the runs chart with an unbeaten 44 runs off 48 balls

Earlier, after being invited to bat first, Kings opener Sagar Pun was sent back to pavilion in the 2nd over for 4 runs by Suboth Bhati. The other opening batsman Amit Shrestha was the highest scorer for the kings as he scored 27 runs off 28 balls with 4 fours. With the lack of any major partnerships, Kings never looked like posting any big total and finally they tumbled down for 89 runs losing all their wickets in 18.3 overs. The pick of the bowler was Suboth Bhati who picked up 4 wickets conceding 15 runs in 3.3 overs while Man of the match Lalit Rajnbanshi picked up 3 wickets at an expense of 14 runs in 4 overs.

Lalitpur Patriots, Kathmandu Kings XI, Biratnagar Warriors, Pokhara Rhinos, Chitwan Tigers and Bhairahawa Gladiators are the 6-teams featuring in this year’s edition of EPL T20.

Chitwan Tigers will face Pokhara Rhinos while Biratnagar Warriors will face Lalitpurs Patriots in the double header matches on December 19, Tuesday.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy