Final squad announced for ICC Division-2

Fourteen member team has been announced for the ICC World cricket league division-2 which is going to be held from February 8 in Namibia. Skipper Paras Khadka, head coach Jagat Tamata and ICC representative Aminul Islam selected the 14 players for the forthcoming event.

Along with Anil Kumar Shah, who made place in the final round of ICC World cricket league against UAE, Rohit kumar Poudel has been given the opportunity in the team for the first time. Aggressive batsman Rohit, who was marvelous in the Everest Premier League has already represented Nepal in the U-19 stage. Sunil Dhamala, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Siddhant Lohani and Kishor Mahato have only been given place in alternative list of the team.

Rohit Paudel
Rohit Paudel

Other members of the team comprise Gyanendra Malla, Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, Arif Sheikh, Sandip Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dilip Nath, Lalit Bhandari and Anil Shah.

Team Nepal
Paras Khadka (captain), Gyanendra Malla (vice-captain), Shakti Gauchan, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Mohammad Arif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Dilip Nath(Wicket Keeper), Lalit Bhandari, Anil Shah, Rohit Kumar Poudel)

Reserve squad
Siddhant Lohani, Kishor Mahato, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Sunil Dhamala

Nepal will head to UAE in 27th January where they will play 3 practice matches. They will fly to Namibia in 4th February for the main tournament. Along with Nepal, UAE, Kenya, Namibia, Oman and Canada are taking part in the tournament.

Top two teams of the tournament will advance to the ICC Cricket World cup qualifiers. Since Nepal finished 7th in the ICC world cricket league, they were relegated to divison-2.

Nepal is set to kick off its campaign by facing the host Namibia in February 8. They will continue their tournament by playing against Oman in February 9, UAE in February 11, Kenya in February 12 and finally against Canada in February 14. The final and playoff matches of the tournament will be played in 15th of February.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy