Skipper Paras fifer seals the match for Nepal

On debut, Rohit Paudel and Karan KC put on a partnership of 57 runs for the 8th wicket to give a winning start to Nepal’s practice campaign in UAE. In the first match of the tour, the duo added 57 runs to prevent an imminent fall down of Nepalese innings.


Set 247 to win, openers Fahad Nawaz and Chirag Suri added 87 runs for the first wicket to place their chase well on course. However an impressive bowling spell from Paras Khadka led to UAE A’s batting collapse, ultimately handing the match to the away side by 25 runs.

At 87/0 from 15 over’s, UAE A was well on course to steal the match before Dipendra Airee gave the first breakthrough for Nepal. The first wicket shifted the momentum from the home side to away side as they lost next 3 wickets for just 5 runs putting them at 4/92. Despite a fighting knock from Neil Lobo (59), Wickets kept falling at regular intervals and UAE A was bundled for 221 runs in 48.4 over’s losing the match by 25 runs. Skipper Khadka grasped a five wicket haul giving away only 36 runs while Dipendra Singh Airee was also crucial recording 3 wickets to his name.

Earlier, winning the toss Nepal elected to bat first and managed to add 246 runs on the board losing all wickets in 49.3 over’s. Wicket keeper batsman Dilip Nath was among the top run getter for Nepal with 61 runs off just 60 balls that constitute of 9 fours and a six. Debutant Rohit paudel anchored the innings with 43 runs including 6 fours to avert the collapse that Nepal was facing in the middle of first innings. Towards the end, Karan KC made a quick fire 35 runs from 16 balls with 2 sixes and 4 fours to put on a respectable total of 246 runs.

For UAE, the wickets were shared among Laxman Srikumar ( 2.4-0-18-3), Mohammad Qasim (10-3-36-2) and Karthik Mayappan (10-2-34-2). Shiraz Pia, Bilal Cheema and Fahad Nawaz also took a wicket each.

Nepal will play two more matches in UAE after which the team will fly to Namibia for the much important ICC WCL Division 2 tournament.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy