Strategic players and teams announced for DPL

The teams and strategic players for the second edition of Dhangadi Premier League has been announced which is scheduled to start from 17th Chaitra. The organizers announced the participating teams, strategic players and team owners in a press conference held in the Annapurna hotel.

Six teams will be participating in the second edition of the tournament where kanchanpur Iconics will be replaced by Mahendra United; other teams remaining the same. The teams have selected different strategic players than last edition since the contract between them has expired.

Sharad Vesawkar who captained Biratnagar kings in the previous edition will be unable to participate in the tournament with personal reasons. As a result, Paras Khadka has been choosen as the strategic player of the kings’ side. Defending champions Team Chauraha, which was captained by Paras Khadka in the first edition has appointed Sompal Kami as their strategic player for this edition. Similarly, CYC Attariya has choosen Dipedra Singh Airee as their strategic player while New entrant Mahendra United has appointed Binod Bhandari as their strategic player who led Kanchanpur Iconics in the previous edition. Shakti Gauchan, who captained Rupandehi Challengers in the earlier season, will remain as the strategic playerof the same in this season too.

Team Strategic Player Team owner
CYC Attariya Dipendra Singh Airee Creative Youth Club,Aattariya
Mahendra United Binod Bhandari Sushil Kumar Shrestha
Biratnagar Kings Paras Khadka Paras Luniya
Rupandehi Challengers Shakti Gauchan Suraj Upreti
Team Chauraha Dhangadi Sompal Kami Rajkumar Shrestha
Kathmandu Goldens Gyanendra Malla Ramesh Silwal (Golden Gate Education Network)

Strategic player will play the role of assistant and may also lead the team as per agreement with the team. The role of strategic player will be similar to that of marquee player of the Everest Premier League.

The winner of the tournament will be awarded with 25 lakhs cash prize, which is the most among domestic tournaments of Nepal. Likewise, the runner up will get 10 lakhs, second runner up 3 lakhs and third runner up will get 3 lakhs cash prize. The best player of the tournament will be awarded with TVS Apache 180 CC motorbike while the man of the match of each game will get cash prize of ten thousand rupees. Around 50 lakhs will be spent for cash prize only in the tournament while the total cost of tournament is estimated to be 3 Crores.

The players will be selected from auction where the teams must purchase at least two international players. Similarly, all teams must select at least one player from far western region through talent hunt program. The auction will be held in 7th of Falgun.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy