Opening ceremony of the ICC World Cup qualifiers held

ICC one day World Cup qualifiers is opening from March 4 in Zimbabwe. The opening ceremony of the event was held on Sunday. Nepali Cricket Team reached Zimbabwe on Sunday evening to participate In the event.

8 teams for the ICC World Cup 2019 have been predetermined while the remaining two spots will be filled from the qualifiers.

Nepal will kick off its campaign by taking on home team Zimbabwe on 4th march. In the second match of the group, they will face Scotland. The final two match will see Nepal take on Afghanistan and Hong Kong in March 10 and 12 respectively. Before the start of the tournament, Nepal will play two warm up matches against UAE and Hong Kong.

Participating teams

West indies, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong, UAE and Nepal.

The 10 participating teams are divided into two groups with 5 sides in a group. Nepal’s group is incorporated by Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong and Scotland while another group consists of West Indies, Ireland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea and United Arab Emirates.

Nepal’s squad

Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami, Mohammad Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Bhandari, Rohit Kumar Poudel, Anil Kumar Shah, Lalit Rajbanshi, Dilip Nath, Shakti gauchan.

The best two teams of the tournament will go on to play the main event in England. Also, the best 3 associate nation of the tournament will be rewarded with one day international status for four years.

Match schedule of Nepal

Zimbabwe- 3 march

Scotland- 8 march

Afghanistan- 10 march

Hong Kong- 12 March

Tournament format

The ten teams are divided in to two groups of five teams. All the teams will play with each other in the group stage in which 3 teams from each group will qualify for the super six round. Each team will play 3 matches against 3 teams from another group. The points gained on group stage will be carried to super six rounds and with addition to the points earned in super sixes, top two teams will qualify for the main event.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy