PM Cup day 3: Sanjam’s heroic win, Chandra’s heroic not enough

Province no.2 and province no.3 record wins in the third day of ongoing Prime Ministers cup in Kathmandu.

Province no. 2 Vs Province no. 4


In the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Sanjam Regmi and Samsad Sheikh’s magic with the ball secured the win for province no.2 against province on. 4. Veteran Regmi snatched a five wicket haul, while sheikh took 4 wickets in a 67 runs victory.

A small target of 159 runs was too much to handle as province no. 4 were bundled for 91 runs in 28.5 overs. Regmi and sheikh went right through the batting order to dismantle the innings completely. Regmi started off by dismissing opener Aakash Thapa (7). Sheikh followed him dismissing Bidhan Shrestha for 2. One after another the duo kept taking wickets in regular intervals to control the flow of runs. Anil Gurung top scored with 36 off 69 balls for province no. 4 while another noticeable innings came from Suma Ghimire who made 32 runs from 36 balls.

Sanjam Regmi

Earlier province no.2 elected to bat first after winning the toss. Neither did they succeeded to bat accurately as they were bundled for 158 runs in 44.3 overs.  Few 10s and 15s led them to 158, while middle order batsman Bishal Sushilng contributed 26 with the bat. Bipin Khatri and Hari Chauhan bagged 3 wickets each. Sanjam Regmi was declared the player of the match for his contribution with the ball.

Province no.6 Vs province No. 3


In the second match of the day played at Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground, province no.3 came better against province no. 6 in a close encounter.

Chandra BC’s outstanding display with the ball was not enough to defend a modest target of 179 runs. He bagged 6 wickets to his name yielding only 41 runs in 10 overs. Among the 7 wickets that fell he dismissed the top 6 batsman. He took off in the first over itself, dismissing Rabin Joshi and Jitendra Thakuri in the third and sixth ball. Another batsman was dismissed in his second over; the scorewas 10-3 with province no. 6 on top.

Chandra BC
Chandra BC

However, Aadil Khan and Sanjay Basnet put on 64 for the 4th wicket to revive the innings. Aadil’s 31 runs innings came from 46 balls with 4 fours. Sanjay also made 20 with 2 boundaries. Both of them were dismissed by Chandra BC. Under tight circumstances, Rahul Shrivastav made a match winning 39 not out to secure the win for province no. 3. They crossed the victory line in the 37th over.

The first innings was dominated by Rabindra Shahi who made 52 off 64 balls with 3 fours. Diwari pun also scored 52 runs to post a modest score of 178 runs.  Kishore Mahato and Jitemndra Thakuri took 2 wickets each for province no. 3. Despite the loss, Chandra BC was adjudged the player of the match.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy