Nepal hopes to qualify for Under-19 World Cup with strong team

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has announced a 14-member team for the Under-19 World Cup Asia Qualifiers to be held in the UAE next month in February. The team was selected from the ongoing closed training in Kathmandu.

In addition to Nepal, teams from Kuwait, Malaysia, UAE, Hong Kong, and Singapore will also compete in the tournament. The winner of the tournament will qualify for the Under-19 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in 2024. It has been since 2016 that Nepal has not qualified for the Under-19 World Cup.

The team announced by the CAN also includes players such as Dev Khanal and Gulshan Jha, who have played for the senior Nepali national team. Similarly, players like Arjun Kumal, Dipesh Kandel, Durgesh Gupta, and Bishal Bikram KC, who have previously represented the Under-19 national team, are also included in the team.

The team includes players who performed well in the Under-19 national tournament held last month in December. Fast bowler Hemant Dhami, who is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament, will lead the fast bowling side of the team along with Gulshan. Similarly, left-arm spinner Milan Bohara, who has taken the second most wickets, will also be an important member of the team. Pratik Shrestha, the highest run-scorer of the tournament, did not get a chance in the team, but Akash Tripathi, who is the second highest run-scorer, and Arjun Kumal, the third highest run-scorer, are in the team. Bishal Bikram KC, who captained the Lumbini winner in the tournament, is also in the team. The team also has two Deepak Bohara who represented Far Western Province.

The CAN has not yet announced the captain and vice-captain of the declared team.

Announced Squad : Aakash Tripathi, Hemant Dhami, Arjun Kumal, Durgesh Gupta, Dipak Bohara,Gulshan Jha, Deepak Bohara, Dev Khanal, Uttam Thapa Magar, Subash Bhandari, Dipak Dumbre, Bishal Bikram KC, Dipesh Kandel, Milan Bohara

Reserves : Prajwal Thapa, Nirmal Thapa, Tul Bhahadur Thapa, Rajesh Yadav



Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy