Nepal Women’s Cricket Team Storms into T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier Semifinals with Fourth Consecutive Win

In a dominating performance, the Nepali women’s cricket team has secured a spot in the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier in Malaysia, notching up their fourth consecutive win. Their latest triumph came against Qatar, where they defeated them by a convincing 9-wicket margin.

Nepal had previously outclassed Malaysia, Bahrain, and Bhutan in this tournament. They are set to face the UAE in their last group stage match scheduled for Wednesday.

In the clash at the UKM YSD ground, Nepal successfully chased down Qatar’s target of 75 runs in just 10.3 overs, with the loss of only 1 wicket.

The opening pair of Kajal Shrestha and Sita Rana Magar played a crucial role in setting the foundation for the victory, amassing a partnership of 47 runs. Sita and Indu Barma carried Nepal to victory after Kajal’s dismissal for a commendable 32 runs off 28 balls, including 4 fours. Sita contributed an unbeaten 17 runs, while Indu notched up an unbeaten 20 runs.

Indu Barma awarded the player of the match for her stellar performance
Indu Barma awarded the player of the match for her stellar performance

Qatar, after losing the toss and opting to bat, managed to put up a total of 74 runs for the loss of 7 wickets during their allotted 20 overs. Saachi Dhadwal was their top scorer with 21 runs, followed by Aleena Khan with 15 runs, and Angeline Mare adding 14 unbeaten runs to the tally.

In the bowling department, Indu Burma shone for Nepal, taking the most wickets with an impressive 3 scalps. She was awarded the player of the match for her stellar performance, conceding only 10 runs in her 4 overs. Puja Mahato and Kabita Joshi each grabbed 1 wicket.

Nepal and UAE have both secured spots in the semi-finals from group ‘A’. The two teams that will join them in the semi-finals from group ‘B’ will be determined today, with Hong Kong and Thailand being strong contenders. In the semi-finals, the group ‘A’ winner will face the group ‘B’ runner-up, while the group ‘B’ winner will compete against the group ‘A’ runner-up. The victors of these matches will earn the opportunity to participate in the T20 World Cup Global Qualifiers.

Related Posts

© 2024 WicketNepal - Nepals No. 1 Cricket Portal - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy